What a difference a year makes

25 Dec

Last Christmas was hard.  To even say hard is an understatement. We had been waiting for Cora for around 7 months and the last thing I wanted to do is think about missing her. But it was all I could think about.  Do we put out a stocking? Do we get a present for her? Do we mention her at our family gatherings knowing it would bring the mood down? But our family each got us something for Cora.  She was here in spirit. Oh how my heart aches for those of you waiting this year.

This year, she’s here!  But I can’t pass Target’s dollar isle without seeing the princess and hello kitty items and remember packing them away in her care packages.  Recordable books bring new meaning for a family who has waited before.  I remember her friends in her orphanage – the ones she talks about all of the time. Especially one little girl who Cora lovingly refers to as her baby – sweet Jin Ha.

Christmas at her orphanage looked like this.  A great time with Santa (who’s beard was obviously malfunctioned.)

christmas2010-1
And friends.

 nov282011-2nov282011

But this year, it’s vastly different.

Santa?  Sure! (With almost as bad of a beard. 😉 )
Christmas1

Comfy jammies and baking with mom.
christmas3

Decorating cookies.
christmas4

Christmas performances with friends.
christmas2

And having to sit with your friends before you sing, but being able to look back and see your MOM sitting in the stands ready to watch you. Be.still.my.heart. (The one thing I think about when I think about all of the performances she did in Korea – never was her mom there to watch her.  Though blurry and grainy and totally a terrible photo, this captured moment is one I’ll treasure forever.)
Christmas5

Sure, there are presents this time of year, and we just had a touch of them tonight – tomorrow is our big day.
Christmas7

But most importantly is the fact that this Christmas, she’s going to bed knowing this appa is her appa.
christmas8

And though she can be bossy and moody and all things 5 + girl sometimes.  The best present is knowing that she’s got two of the best brothers in the world who love her more than she’ll know.
Christmas9

And I close my eyes tonight thanking God for the blessing of his son who loves me.  And I see the blessings he has given me and yes, I get frustrated, mad, grumpy, angry, sad, moody, bossy and many other not-so-nice things sometimes. I get tired and think I can’t keep going another minute – another load of laundry, load of dishes, homework battle, stinky socks on the floor, bathrooms that can’t stay clean for a day. Sometimes it overtakes me and I sink in that mood.

This photo of all kids is a true glimpse at the blessings that I have. My goal is to stay in that moment.

Merry Christmas to all!

And there were shepherds living out in the fields nearby, keeping watch over their flocks at night. An angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were terrified.  But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people.Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

2 Responses to “What a difference a year makes”

  1. Kangkook January 2, 2013 at 4:17 am #

    I personally like the way writes things about Cora. Thanks a lot for a great post. Happy new year!!!

  2. stephanie January 3, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    Yes, yes, yes. A year makes a big difference. What a joy it is to see how God has richly blessed you all!!
    My favorite is the part about Cora having a mom…her mom… there to watch her performances. A family changes everything.

Leave a Reply

