Thank You, Michigan!

8 Sep

Out of the blue a month or so ago, I got an email from a woman in Michigan who is also adopting from Korea.  The Korean adoption group she is a part of in Michigan was doing a T-shirt fundraiser and they wanted to benefit Cora. I read the post with my jaw dropped.  Amazing, amazing people.

I instantly thought of Amsa, Cora’s orphanage.  The sweet kiddos there that are Cora’s first brothers and sisters.  The ones she loves dearly. The ones she asks shyly if they can be in our family, too.  The ones that have my heart. My heart.  I thought I had a heart for orphans in general, but let me tell you, when you know their names, it goes from the desire to help those without families to a painful realization that you can not do what you wish you could do for these children with names, with faces we recognize and love.  None of them are in the system for adoption.

These amazing people that I have never met raised a substantial amount of money for Amsa, donated in Cora’s name and I am forever grateful to them for their hearts.

Thank you, friends.

They also sent us the tshirts that they created.  I *love* them!

If you were one of these families, please consider commenting so I can thank you personally.

If you are ever moved to send support to Cora’s orphanage please let me know and I will share how.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Thank You, Michigan!”

  1. Hyosun Ro September 8, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Hi Jen – Please let me know how I can support. I’ve been reading every post of yours and always look forward to the next one. You guys are amazing! So is the Korean Adopting Group in Michigan!

    • Jen September 9, 2012 at 12:14 am #

      And I have been reading YOUR blog non-stop, too! (I made Chap chae for dinner and have miyuk good and Kongnamul Gook cooking tonight in hope that Cora will eat THAT for breakfast seeing she’s ousted everything else that I offer her!! 🙂 Thank you for your amazing recipes. I’ll email you! 🙂

  2. Aunt Jesy September 8, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Can you order the shirts anymore?

    • Jen September 9, 2012 at 12:14 am #

      I don’t know! I’ll have Amy come tell you!

  3. Kimberly Berg September 8, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    LOVE the T-shirts! How can I buy some?

    • Jen September 9, 2012 at 12:15 am #

      Me too, Kimberly! I said they should sell them for more fundraisers! I’m going to have Amy come tell us if they have more to sell? I’m not sure.

  4. Alison September 9, 2012 at 5:08 am #

    Love!!!

  5. amy September 12, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Hey guys!!!! Thanks for loving our shirts — we have a VERY talented daddy in our group!!!! We sold the shirts as a little fundraiser for our Korean picnic and we offered three options for the donation monies— Cora was picked, but unfortunately we are not selling them anymore. Next year we will sell a different shirt and pick another family/place that touches out hearts!!! Thank you for offering to help if we were still doing the fundraiser ❤ ((hugs to you all))) And Jen your family looks AWESOME in the shirts!!!!!

Leave a Reply

