Date Night #3 – Logan

23 Aug

Three date nights in three nights is a lot. Just pointing that out. 😉 And eating ice cream three nights in a row is not a good idea. Even if one of them was fat-free sorbet. It’s still not a good idea.

Logan.
My almost 11 year old super amazing buddy.

Who is a mere inches away from being my height and has passed me in shoe size by two full sizes.

He’s always liked to keep his feet on the ground where it is safe. No crazy lifestyle for him.
Though, he’s starting to spread his wings a little bit.

I had the hardest time thinking of a date night for Logan. He’s in the in-between stage of kid and teen.  50% of the time he acts 6, but that other 50% of the time would scoff at what a 6-year-old would like.

He said he’d like to go out to eat at a restaurant he knows I love.
I know he did it simply because he knows I love it.
He’s that kind of kid.

But I talked him into a Japanese Hibachi place that we took him to a long time ago.

Before the show started, he wanted to start taking notes on a book idea he wants to write with me. (Be still my heart.)
We got some scratch paper from the hostess and the ideas just poured out of his mouth.
I kept notes and prodded for details and he just kept the main points coming. I can’t wait to work on this project with him!

Next up, more free coupons!


We were be-bopping along to the music until he realized it was Justin Bieber.
Then I was be-bopping by myself.

I kicked his butt.
71 to 53.

A game that I would never ever typically spend a dollar on was a highlight of the night.
I told him I better take a picture cause you won’t see me spending another dollar on this ride again. 😉

MY highlight of the night was a picture machine.
LOVE these for special evenings.

It was right after this that we started talking about how big he’s getting and how in a year or two he probably won’t want to hang out with me anymore. I’d quickly go from fun and cool to “mom”.
With tears in his eyes, he told me that would never happen.
I almost made him promise me on camera to hold him accountable to it. 😉

With my third (bleh!) ice cream of the week in hand, we started walking to the car.

I want you to know I’m going to stand up for Cora at school this year.  And watch out for her. So, if you’re worrying about her, you don’t have to.
*tears tears tears*

He is kind and compassionate.
He’s not always well-behaved.
Can get a bit too excited without knowing how to tune it down, but oh can this boy love.

Blessed!

And my date nights finally draws to the end.  And I get to sit back and watch Dave go out and enjoy our kids just like I did.
And diet. Or detox. Or both.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Date Night #3 – Logan”

  1. Wendi August 23, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    Oh my.. Your blogs are tear jerkers!!
    Logan is so sweet!!:) glad you had a nice time!:)

  2. stephanie August 23, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Swoon! What a dear, dear soul. “I’m going to stand up for Cora this year.” ??? Who says that?! You’ve got to start blogging your parenting tips, my friend because you are definitely doing something right!!

  3. Shecki August 23, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Wow, he is big! One of my boys turned 11 today, and I can still put my chin on top of his head. Sounds like a sweetheart. P.s. The teens don’t always grow out of wanting to go out with you. I have sons that are 20, 15, and 14, and any of them would be happy to go out one on one with me.

  4. Alison August 24, 2012 at 4:53 am #

    How sweet is he?? So much more mature sounding than devin, and such a sweetheart. He is a great big brother!

Leave a Reply

