Date Night #1 – Cora

21 Aug

 

I’ll be honest…I’ve been feeling a lot of feelings lately, many of them included wishing I could break into three and spend some MAJOR quality time with the kids. I’ve been feeling frustrated about spending every waking second with one child as I’m apparently not so great at the balancing act that goes on when you go from 2 to 3 children.  Plus, I’ve been feeling rather homesick for some of the things I loved to do with two of those children once upon a time.
I wrote up a huge vent email to my friend Wendi last night and went to bed in tears.

It seems that many of the adoption moms who have come home after Cora did are enjoying some freedom in their new life and are able to hang with friends, go out with their kids one-on-one and even with their husbands.  Having a 5-year-old home for 4 months just (in my opinion) isn’t easy to leave behind when it comes to getting out. It’s a big deal. It’s a lot of work.  And if I were to just go, that would be one thing, but to take another child with me that wasn’t her or that didn’t include her would make her feel punished or left out.

But it wasn’t working and I was feeling frustrated.  When I voiced my concerns to Dave he had a brilliant idea! DO the date nights, but start with Cora! Let her go first so she can see what will happen with her brothers.  It *instantly* lifted my mood! We started today and will have Miles/mom – Logan/mom the next two nights and then Dave will take each child for 3 nights in a row.  Dave slipped in that the last night is a mom/dad date night, so WHOO to that!

We got all prettied up in our happy yellow for a night on the town.

First stop? Manicures.

Manicures, people.
I have been a mom for almost 11 years. Never did I think I’d be taking my child to get a manicure.

But I did!
And my little sniffer-of-everything couldn’t help but comment on the terrible smell of the nail salon. 😉

Perfectly pink.

Cora already told Dave that her date night with him is going to include “toe finger painting” at the salon. 😉

And though she wanted to go out for some Bi-Bim-Bap, we couldn’t drive that far for dinner.
Chinese food it was.

A quick stop to the mall to get a super special necklace for the first day of Kindergarten.
What a decision it is the moment you step into Claires, no? Oh my gosh.

Claires, people!
The apple necklace won!
(Are those eyes not amazing?)

And last but not least, some ice cream.
A dish for her…

…and a cone for me.
Classic Cora picture.

But, as always, someone got a little too curious about my cone and, as always, I lost it.

All of my frustrations flew out the window once Dave came up with this idea.  I had the best (best, best, best!) time with Cora tonight and I can’t wait for round two with Miles tomorrow and Logan the next day.  Each of the boys get to pick exactly what they want to do for their dates so they are so excited, too.

T-1 day until Cora’s eye doctor appoinment when we will find out her prescription. Soon enough those cheesy grin will be even cuter! 🙂

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Date Night #1 – Cora”

  1. Wendi August 21, 2012 at 4:20 am #

    So glad the date nights are working out!! I need to do that with my kiddos!!!:):)

  2. countingseeds August 21, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    You are an amazing mama!

  3. stephanie August 21, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    It is so hard, isn’t it? Feeling suffocated and cooped up and unable to just go do something…alone or otherwise. It’s been 9 months home for us and we are really feeling frustrated at times with feeling trapped by this attachment work. So glad you and Cora had an awesome time (yes, her eyes are amazing!), and that you have come up with a great plan for getting that one-on-one time you crave.

  4. Anne Pirlot August 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Dave to the rescue! What a smart cookie. That looks like so much fun! I love the color you chose for your mani.

  5. Alison August 24, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    Love!!!!

Leave a Reply

