Ow, Ow, Ow, Cheese!….I’m OK!

21 Jul

Gooooood morning, sunshine! This is the result of a “Smile!” (did not work…) “OK, don’t smile. Do.Not.Smile. I do not want you to smile at me. I said no smile! (worked….)

Cora is doing very well. You can see in this picture how her laser treated areas are looking.  The color is even more purple now.  But it’s not swollen and painful like it was.  The worst area is around her neck – all the way around like a turtle-neck shirt. Her skin is starting to peel off in some areas where she was lasered despite our constant stream of vaseline. This reveals very raw skin underneath which is, of course, painful, but she is a rock. When I think she should be crying, she does a few animated, “ow! Ow, ow, ow, Cheese, mom! ow!…..I’m OK!” and off she runs. (I hope she always says cheese!)

Staying inside is a bit of a bummer only because we have to.  If we didn’t HAVE to stay inside, I bet we wouldn’t be longing for the fresh air as much as we are. Today we played in the garage with buckets of water. I opened the garage a good foot or two and the air felt so nice.

Tonight the 3 kids and their daddy are camping out in the livingroom.  The 3 kids in the tent and Dad on the couch.  I’m thinking she’ll be joining me in bed in a few hours, but we’ll see! She was so excited to sleep next to Logan, who she adores.

We head back to the doctor on Wed to assess the skin post-treatment and make our plans for our next laser treatment sans our amazing dermatologist.  She told us who is filling in for her so I hope I can feel as confident in her hands as I do in our current doctor’s hands.

One Response to “Ow, Ow, Ow, Cheese!….I’m OK!”

  1. Wendi July 21, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Glad she is feeling better!!!

    And again… Those AMSA girls.. Reverse psychology works awesome on Avah.:):):) we are constantly saying .. Don’t you smile and there we go.. We get a smile.:)

Leave a Reply

