Surprise! Your Daughter May Have Cancer

30 May

That’s pretty much what I was told yesterday at the doctor’s office when Cora and I went to the Dermatologist.  A simple check of Cora’s moles turned into me reading the doctor’s eyes which told signs that she thought something was wrong — to student doctors coming in to play, “Guess what this 5-year-old has” —  to words being shared between the three without anything coming out of their mouths in a language that I don’t speak — to me asking them to not play the doctor-to-doctor-eye-contact game because it’s not fun.

That moment where you’ve just finished up a delicious meal shared with your husband and daughter at the Korean restaurant near the hospital.  They welcomed us with a smile that said, “I remember you!” and Cora with an enthusiastic “Ah! Seung Joo-ah!” Bi-Bim-Bop, Bulgogi, Chap-Chae-Bop, Tukboki.

Your belly is full, your spirits are high and your heart is happy as you stare at the fish tank with your daughter.  She comes up and starts wiggling her arms and legs and tushie and she says nothing, but smiles huge.  “Do you want to dance?” I ask her?  I start dancing.  She shakes her head “no” and keeps dancing.  A few moms start smiling at her dance and huge smile.  “What are we doing?” I ask as I am still dancing and she whispers, “Shee-shee”.  “AAAHHH! You’re doing the shee-shee dance!” AKA: The potty dance. LAUGHTER and still that overwhelming feeling of, “She’s MINE! This darling sweet girl who everyone is smiling at doing the shee-shee dance is my daughter!”  SO blessed. 

The moment of joy turned fear as you try to joke off the serious look in the doctors eye.  The tissue that the nurse hands you even though you’re not yet crying, but then you wonder, “should I be?”.  The text message that you shakily sent to your husband who went back to work as the doctor steps out to get the camera to take pictures. “Terrible news.”

It appears that it is very likely (highly probable were the words used) that Cora has a condition in which her body can’t protect her skin against the sun properly and if this is so, she will likely have a life filled with skin cancer (among other things).  In fact, they are concerned that she may have skin cancer right now. We have a sedated biopsy scheduled in the coming weeks where they will check multiple areas on her body for cancer.

Luckily, if it is cancer, it is the slow-growing kind of cancer that surgery almost always takes care of, but the reality of this likelihood is that she could possibly have new cancers pop up a few times a year…or every other week. It’s all variable, however, 95% of people with this issue have multiple repeated skin cancers. Some, just a handful in their lifetime, others thousands in their lifetime. Thousands.

So now we wait for our biopsy and pray. And if we could bathe in sunscreen, we would, although at this point, I’m not sure if it would even help. It’s not 100% certain yet, but there are markers and she meets most all of them.

But it is not 100% certain yet. Only God knows. But this mommy knows that there might be another obstical in the path of this precious amazing miraculous child and that makes me all momma-bear angry.

14 Responses to “Surprise! Your Daughter May Have Cancer”

  1. grammom May 30, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    And we all continue to pray that God will watch over Cora…

  2. Amy Meeker May 30, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    Jen, I’m so so sorry. I’ll be praying for Cora and all of you. Remember….she is here because God hand picked you to be her adovcate and helper (you already know that). I was very angry when I found out about Timmy’s heart and reduced life span and mulitple open heart surgerires. MAD! But God used my MAD to help fight for Timmy’s life and to teach me many lessons along the way. I’m still learning, advocating, praying, growing and thankful it’s all because of my miracle boy! I love you guys and I’m in your corner for CORA!

  3. anna fuhr May 31, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Jen, my heart is so sad for all you guys are going through. The only bright spot in all of this is that with you, Dave and the boys in her life, Cora is certain to get the best care and so much love that together you guys can get through this. I am praying for you all. God Bless.

  4. stephanie May 31, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    Oh, Jen. I simply can not imagine what you all are going through as you wait for further testing and answers. My prayer is that you feel the strength and peace of God holding you up as you wait and you see his power displayed in a good report when that time comes. As shocking as this all is, none of it is a surprise to God. He was with you in that exam room and will continue to surround you with his presence.

  5. Sarah May 31, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    Jen, I commented awhile ago when you guys were struggling a bit with adjustment. I wanted to comment again and say that you are in my prayers. I thank God that Cora has a mom and a dad who can be scared for her and worry about her future and do something to help her and just love her. God’s Grace and His peace surround you in these days. Praying…

  6. Lisa Schubring May 31, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    I will be praying for sweet Cora and your family. What a scary thing to hear about your amazing new daughter. Praying also for you – being a mama is so hard and scary!

  7. neekah May 31, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I am shocked 😦 I hope it turns out to be a false diagnosis!! Praying for your family!!!
    Neekah

  8. Amanda May 31, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    So sorry your fam and esp your little girl have yet anothet hurdle to tackle. Praying peace and strength for your family as Godost certainly works this out for good.

  9. Dizzy May 31, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Jen, prayers and strength for you to jump this new hurdle with Cora. Now she has her family in her corner for all possible future dr visits. My heart breaks for you, but know that she is loved and you can go forward together with this news.

    • Jen May 31, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      “Now she has her family in her corner for all possible future dr visits.” –Amen to this!

  10. amy May 31, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Thinking of you, Cora and family- hoping for positive news and a misdiagnosis!!!!

  11. Jen May 31, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    **hugs** I know how scary something like this can be. I will be keeping your family and especially Cora in my thoughts. I have faith this will be okay.

  12. Mandy May 31, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    Hi Jen, I have been reading your blog while waiting for my daughter to come home from Korea, and have kept reading it now that she is home because your family is so inspiring. I just wanted to tell you that you are all in my prayers, too. –Mandy

  13. Nora June 4, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I can’t believe I missed this. Much love and prayers to you all.

Leave a Reply

