Language Lessons

27 May

A little bit of family-love talk at the end of the night brings us to the white board where we draw it out. I know that I’m off on some of my Hangul, but I DID get a “WOW! Good Job Mom!!” when it was all done.  I take that as success.
(Don’t ask me what she’s doing.  We said, “Winkle!” which I have heard them say before with the camera and this is what transpired.  She thought she was sooooo funny when she saw the picture.)

I won’t lie though, the fact that she won’t write her Korean name in Hangul anymore makes me sad.
Boo hoo.
Mixed emotions!
A life I want her to embrace, but a past I want her to hold on to as well.  How to balance them both. *sigh*

One Response to “Language Lessons”

  1. stephanie May 29, 2012 at 12:56 am #

    “A life I want her to embrace, but a past I want her to hold on to as well. How to balance them both. *sigh*” — which is why you are doing what you are doing. You are creating opportunities for her to hold onto her past with the food and culture and language and writing…the parts you have control over. What is hard is that you don’t have control over what she decides she wants to hold onto. She will work out the balance that works for her for where she is right now. (She really is beautiful, isn’t she?!)

Leave a Reply

