Food

18 Apr

We have been struggling with finding things that Cora likes to eat. Her main meals are sooo different from our typical meals so we’ve been doing our best to add in things we think might be familiar, but it is not easy.  Our first night we had rice and chicken and ramen – she only ate the ramen.  Since then, she’s had ramen again, a waffle, 3 apples, some chicken and a couple yogurts. (And icecream last night! 😉 )  Our scale at home says a whopping 34 lbs, so I really want to figure this out.

Today, we headed off to the Korean grocery store.  It’s a good 25-30 minute drive to get there, so I wanted to wait awhile, but this was important to get there fast.  It’s a tiny place and the owner is from Cora’s birth city.  He gave us some idea of some things to give her, and then we walked through the isles.  She picked out lots of familiar snacky foods and noodles and mandu (dumplings), seaweed and rice cakes so we’re good for a while, I think and hope she’ll start eating a bit more.

To encourage that, we went to a Korean restaraunt, too! Gimbap, Mandu and dumpling soup for our girl plus some side dishes and she was just gobbling it down. She was slopping and slurping away, stuffing her cheeks! I felt SO good about her filling her belly and the owner was so wonderful to talk to her in Korean.

She started drawing and writing her name in Hangul and he gave her such praise, which of course made her so happy!

When we left, he boxed up a few more sides for her to eat tonight and told us if we ever needed anything to come back. We will for sure be back soon! Yay for full bellies!

10 Responses to “Food”

  1. Dena April 19, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    Awww — I love this. And I recognize that restaurant. 🙂 We love New Seoul!!

    • Jen April 20, 2012 at 1:12 am #

      We should go sometime this summer! 🙂

  2. Yvonne April 19, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    We love both that restaurant and the grocery store. So glad they were able to help fill her belly! And if you would like any recipe ideas, I have lots of Korean recipes and would be happy to share if that would help. Some are quite easy, like jap chae, bulgogi, kimbap, some soups. And how wonderful too that she was able to speak Korean – love it!

    • Jen April 20, 2012 at 1:09 am #

      Yvonne, her happiest food at New Seouls was the mild dumpling soup. I’d love some recipes! Preferrably ones that use chicken or could replace beef with chicken?

  3. Sarah April 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I’ve enjoyed reading about your story. FYI, the blog listed below has some really great, easy recipes. My dh is Korean, but doesn’t cook. When I asked my MIL for recipes, she won’t share, she just makes us whatever we request. I was desperate to try and make some myself so dh wouldn’t go in withdrawal (his parents own at Korean grocery for 30 years). Anyway, here it is….http://eatingandliving.blogspot.com/

    • Jen April 20, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      WONDERFUL!! Thank you SO much, Sarah! I bet you get so much yummy food from your inlaws!

    • Hyosun Ro April 21, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      Sarah – You’re so kind. Thanks!!

      • Hyosun Ro April 21, 2012 at 2:27 am #

        Jen – I am the Korean mom from the Korean cooking blog, eating and living. I was deeply touched by your story. What a cute little girl and two handsome boys! Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. You guys are awesome!

  4. Aimee April 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    She is looking so great! We had this problem most especially with our first little guy home from Korea. I finally ended up making fried rice for breakfast almost every day, using eggs scrambled into rice leftover from the night before. That went over well, but it wasn’t until I started adding sesame oil to the oil I fried the rice in, and a bit of Sriracha hot chili sauce stirred in at the end, that I hit the jackpot. 🙂

    You’ve probably already got these, but the little seaweed sheets, served with sticky rice, were a great go-along with every meal. At our first Amsa reunion, we all laughed to see the kids scarf the seaweed down like candy, they all seemed to love it! Thanks for sharing Cora’s progress – did I mention (a hundred times) how happy I am to see her home with you?

    • Jen April 20, 2012 at 1:12 am #

      Well that is a great idea! I have everything to make this tomorrow for breakfast! Our biggest struggle is breakfast! Thanks Aimee! She folds her gim up in thirds and stuffs it in her mouth as fast as she can! haha!

Leave a Reply

