The night before

5 Apr

The bags are packed, the kids have their carry-ons full of crayons and papers and coloring books and snacks.    Cora’s carry on for the way home has little dolls and squinkys and littlest petshop. Oh how I wish I could guarantee that would last 14 hours. 😉 (My carry-on is still empty, minus my kindle.  Do you think it is because I know I’ll have over spills from the kids?)

Right now the kids are downstairs, Dave’s printing off the essentials and we’re waiting for our director to call with our itinerary for meeting Cora.  I’m sure we’re going to forget something.  We just did a video and interviewed each of us, how we’re feeling, what we want Cora to know in 10 years about this moment.  It was just like 30 seconds for each person, but my goodness did Logan melt my heart.  I hope some day she looks back and sees how she was loved when she lived half way around the world.

I’m feeling like we just need to get over the hump of the flight to really soak in the gravity of the situation.  It’s like a HUGE mountain that when I get to the top, I can see past it, but until I do, I’m staring at the wall.  2+ hrs in the car, 14 hrs in the plane and another 1 to the hotel.  Makes for a biiiig mountain.

We’re going to do lots of touristy things in between our meetings with Seung Joo, but the thing that I am most excited for is the picnic. To have the chance to meet Cora’s roommates, care takers, cooks? janitors? therapists?  I have learned that it’s their big Spring Family picnic, so not totally for just the girls, but our agency told us that our Korean agency plans on honoring them.  (Sarah’s family is on a different travel path for us, so they won’t be there.) Even if there is nothing special said about their departure, I am really looking forward to the day of fun with her orphanage and seeing her in her element.  I can’t even describe my excitement. We have been told all along we would not be allowed to see any other children, so this is just so special.

We are bringing 3 cameras and a video camera, 2 cell phones and an ipod.  I made Dave promise that we could take 4000 pictures if I wanted to. 😉

Overall, I’m feeling peaceful! We’re not running around like crazy-people.  We’re prepared, the house is clean, the kids are ready, we’re ready, the dog is with my parents and most importantly, I had a pedicure, a haircut and an eyebrow wax. We’re good. 😉

So, we go to sleep tonight the last time in this house as a family of 4.  The next time we lay our heads down under this roof, we’ll all be together, a family of 5.  We can do this.

Deuteronomy 31:8 – The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.

7 Responses to “The night before”

  1. Wendi April 5, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Praying for your journey to Cora all the way to Seoul and back again!!!!!!! What a special special treat!!!! Gods timing is so incredible!!!:):)

  2. Stacey Stevens April 5, 2012 at 1:29 am #

    Have a safe flight out. Such an amazingly exciting time! Soak it up; enjoy every minute.

  3. stephanie April 5, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Tears of joy! You are leaving!!!! You are ultra-prepared, and it will be AWESOME. If you don’t keep us all posted via your blog I may just go crazy and have to fly to Korea myself for an update.
    WOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  4. amy April 5, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Tears in my eyes….may your travels be safe and once you have Cora in your arms may you have peace! ENJOY!!!!

  5. my3busyboys April 6, 2012 at 4:44 am #

    Have a blast!!!!

  6. shasamdrew April 6, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    You will do this and you will have a wonderful trip!!! Safe travels to you and your family!!!

  7. Dena April 7, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Love the update!! Take tons of photos and videos. I took 2000+, and I wish I had taken more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

