My Goliath

2 Apr

Once we pouted, cried and got angry on Friday knowing we didn’t get our travel call, I went into the weekend, as weekends always are for me, at peace. Agencies don’t call on weekends. Life is normal on the weekends.  Laundry, housework, Lasertag, plans. Plans to continue to get ready!  I made a goal to have our bags 100% packed (well, minus makeup) by Sunday night.  I wrote my entire month of April’s articles for work hoping that I would travel soon and could forget about it for awhile and I just kept busy.

My prayer on Friday night was, “I trust You. I trust You.  I trust You.” Over and over.  And when it hit me on Saturday that we would be able to do one more church service before we left , I saw blessing in that.  I love my church so much that going to service is literally one of the best parts of my entire week, hand’s down. Good music, God’s truth, digging in the Bible and learning, good coffee! 🙂  (If you’re local and are looking for a church home, let me know and I’ll share with you.)

Yesterday’s service was about David and Goliath.  We are going through the entire Bible as a church this year and we’re in 1st and 2nd Samuel.  It is a familiar story, but the application of the lesson was amazing at hit home so much.  The part that hit home was when our pastor noted,  “David is NOT the hero in this story.”  And it’s easy to think that.  Little David took down the big mean giant! You hear it in all of the kid’s Bible stories.

And it’s a common thing to say for encouragement, “Just believe in yourself! Be the hero of your own life! If you dream it, you can achieve it.”  Right?  Motivational tidbits to make you feel like you can do anything!

GOD took down the big mean giant, NOT David.  David just believed enough in God’s ability to do.

Our pastor said he didn’t know what our personal Goliath was, but we all have one. What was taunting us? What were we afraid of. Our biggest darkest fears.  Death? Death of a spouse? Losing your home? A sweet baby girl in another country that you love so so very much that you are afraid you will never get to parent?

Are you running around with the thought that you can fix it? (Umm…yes. Well desperately trying.) Are you running around like a hamster in a wheel looking for the answers? (Um…definitely! My agency can attest to that one.)  Do you think you’re in control? (I struggle with this in every single aspect of my life…so much.)

He reminded us that it’s common for Christians to say, “Just have the faith! Faith like David!” but he encouraged us to look past those words — do not have faith IN David’s ability to overcome the giant, have faith in God LIKE David did to overcome the giant.

“The Lord replied, “If you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it would obey you!” Luke 17:6

So what’s your giant? I know what mine is.  I know that I have no power to fix it, to persuade it, to beat it.  I’ve been running around like a David-size person without the armor of God fighting this big giant. (And you can see the battle scars to prove it!) I was resting in MY ability to change things.  And where did that get me?  In bed, in tears.

Yesterday was a good reminder that I have been putting my faith – my trust – in MY abilities to get Cora home. That will never happen. I got a realignment yesterday, so to speak.  A reminder.  A nudge. So thankful that we were able to get to the service and so thankful for the lesson God picked for us.

Will we get a travel call today? I hope so. I don’t know. But God knows.

I trust You. I trust You.  I trust You. I trust You. I trust You. I trust You.

 

3 Responses to “My Goliath”

  1. grammom April 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Thank you Jennifer. I believe we all needed to read this and simply believe.

  2. stephanie April 2, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Such a good message! Wow! Love it that God shows up in such big ways. Praying for Him to continue to make His care for you and your situation obvious.
    And praying for that travel call.
    With much love!

  3. Wendi April 2, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Ahhh… Thank you Jen I needed that! What an encouragement. I so needed that today!!!

    Wow.. You have no idea how much that changed my outlook.

    I trust him! I trust him!!!!

Leave a Reply

