Family portrait by Logan

25 Mar

Our church is starting a new magazine that is all about showing how God is touching lives in the congregation.  I was asked to help write, and when the woman found out we were adopting, she asked if I could not only interview a certain member about his story, but write one of my own about my adoption.

The biggest “God thing” in my life IS about adoption, but not about MY adoption, but one that I had only a small part in. (Here is the blog post from that time that shares about it…) I got permission from my new, dear friend and mom of this sweet baby girl to write about how God moved mountains and sent over my article and pictures.  The woman in charge asked if one of my children could draw a picture of our family, including Seung Joo.

I knew I wanted Logan to do it, because I thought he could understand that he had to take real time to do this project, but I also know that Logan is NOT a drawer, has never enjoyed coloring and would probably struggle with this.  He didn’t even know where to start! (But if you would have asked him to do an experiment, do a math problem or have a debate about something, he’d be all over it.)

I remembered that Sarah’s sister Anna drew a family picture of the 6 of them and it is on Sarah’s blog. I set up that picture and told Logan, “Draw this! But with US!” 🙂  Here it is!  The poor kid is just not a colorer and she asked for it to be with crayons. I think it could have been better with markers, I’m so proud of this little drawing.  I love how my name is large and in charge. 🙂

 

 

4 Responses to “Family portrait by Logan”

  1. Aunt Jesy March 25, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    I love it! Jen it actually looks like you! 🙂

  2. stephanie March 25, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    What an excellent picture…a true keepsake!

  3. Anne Pirlot March 25, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Logan did a great job! I’m really impressed!!!

  4. Megan March 26, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    I love how Cora has the biggest smile of all of you!

Leave a Reply

