Update and Big Happy Birthday to Sarah

13 Mar

Today is Sarah’s 5th birthday.  Go spread a little birthday love to her mom and dad.  And if you don’t know the Korean version of Happy Birthday, here’s a lesson. We’re going to do our best to learn it so we can (God-willing) sing it at Cora’s birthday.

We’re still hanging on. It’s been more than a week now since our EP’s have been submitted. The agency guessed it would be up to 2 and another week for the Korean agency to get everything ready for our travel call. I just have this feeling, however, that it’s not going to be that fast. SO many rumors about possible travel – some are good, some not so much – but the reality is, we just don’t know.

Cora’s birthday is one month away. We decided to do all of her birthday shopping in advance so that we are all ready to go, if she’s home that is. So, I spend some time on my favorite shopping place on the web – Amazon! 🙂 I love how you order and 2 days later with no shipping costs they arrive at your doorstep.

I have a box full of pricess costumes, princess shoes, a scooter, an American Girl knockoff doll (Tell me that I will never think it’s OK to spend hundreds on a doll, please.) and some more toddler-y toys, but they help you practice writing your ABC’s and numbers. A few other little things, but I’m going to wrap them, put them up high and forget about them.

Today was Kindergarten day, which was an emotionally hard day thinking about and going alone.  But the staff all know that we are adopting and they were great and very supporting!  We even had a chance to sit down for 20 minutes and talk to Cora’s ESL/ELL teacher about her plans for her next year.  I took some pictures that I plan on adding to a photo album for Cora so she can start to get familiar with her school. (Maybe I’ll share later in the week…)

I’ve been busy with work, trying to get done in advance what I can, but really, I’m just thinking that we have 1 month until Cora’s birthday and I just don’t know if we’re going to be there.  It’s on my mind a lot.  Tears are in my eyes a lot.  We’re getting so close, but we’ve felt close for so long.

I met with some of my youth group last weekend and we talked about the idea of, what if every time you worry, you pray.  Prayer over worrying.  Trying to take my own advice and focus on God’s command to us in Matthew.

Matthew 11:28-30  Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Good conversation on the last post – thank you for that! Keep it coming because I really do appreciate the opinions from other adoptive parents!  I do want to make a point in saying that I wasn’t talking about anything or anyone who said something to me personally – in fact, it wasn’t a personal post (or wasn’t supposed to be if it sounded like it) but more speaking in general terms.

No one knows how much or how little preparation one family has done or has had to do as a minimum for their state, but I can tell you that there has been so much in this house.  And you know what that will get us? Probably nothing. Cause nothing probably can prepare us for what is coming.  But we have our laundry list of numbers, (SO MANY NUMBERS), plans (that will probably go arry), friends who have adopted to help us when times get hard, our family, our church family, our Korean adoption group and most importantly, God and our faith. ‘

So we go! And we pray. And we concentrate on our happy thoughts because happy thoughts get us though so much better than scary what-if thoughts (but don’t worry, the scary what-if thoughts are there, cause we’ve read a LOT!).  And then, like Donna pointed out in her comments, we never give up! Because Cora’s deserves a family who will fight for her.

2 Responses to “Update and Big Happy Birthday to Sarah”

  1. Megan March 15, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    What!??!! A knock off AG doll??? Well, if nothing else….now I know the perfect welcome home gift for little Cora! 🙂

    • Jen March 15, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      Oh boy! I forgot you might take offense at that! haha!! But this knock off is BEAUTIFUL! Darling and the girliest thing I’ve ever had in this house!! Can you even tell the difference? I’m doubting.

Leave a Reply

