This one goes out to the one(s) I love

6 Mar

How can I thank everyone for their support? Impossible. But I’m going to try. (I know I’ll fail, but I’m going to try….)

Let’s start with this guy.

Do you know, it is NOT easy being married to me.  I can be grumpy, demanding and pouty.  I often times expect so much more from Dave then I expect for myself.  Despite my desire, often times I show the boys how much I love them many times more than I show Dave. It’s terrible.
But Dave is honestly my rock. And he works so hard for us.

And he comes home and often times I start immediately telling him of my day or the struggles I had throughout the day without thinking about the fact that HE had a long day, he worked hard and he wants to tell me about it just as much as I want to tell him about it.

Every night after work, he’s doing something like this:

or this

or this.

There is something about going through a home study that really makes you reflect on where your marriage is, where it’s struggling and where you want it to be.  There’s something about being completely helpless in a situation that is so deep in your heart that makes you rely on your partner in a different way.  We’ve been married for almost 12 years and I can tell you that today, our marriage is better than it was 2 years ago because of the hardness of this adoption.  And two years ago, I thought it was good! Today, I know it is more than good.

Thank you Dave for listening to me cry, vent and laugh.  Thank you for not breaking on me when I thought I would break.  You are truly my best friend.

Next comes this lady. I call her mom.

Again, do you know that I am not the easiest DAUGHTER to have? But what does my mom do? She lets me get mad, she lets me say things that she knows will only make me feel better for a moment and she never once reacts. I do feel that I can tell my mom EVERYTHING and she will not judge me.

Never once during this adoption have I felt like she didn’t care.  When I wondered where everyone was, my mom was never one of those people. I talk to her almost daily and she is my constant support.

To know that I can call you and say, “Mom, I need a break!” and you say, “So, bring the kids on out for the weekend.”  It’s the best support system I have. Thank you. And thank Dad. The boys are blessed to have you as their grandparents. Cora will be, too!

Mom, thank you for everything. I feel as lucky to have you as my mom as you did to have Grandma as yours.

These women:

Grace and Wendi are adopting Sarah and Avah, both from Cora’s orphanage.  These girls are two of the most important people in my entire adoption.  Lasting friendships, for sure.  I love their daughters and we have decided to raise the girls as extended family.  Avah, Sarah and Cora are cousins for life.  You can spend years in the same orphanage, get adopted at the same time to three women who love each other without staying connected. Please pray that our lives continue on the path of forever friends.

I have visions of Korean speaking skype calls in our future, hopefully for a long time.  Grace will have to tell me if Cora’s complaining about me. 😉

My girlfriends, both in person and online. It’s impossible to name you all, but the ones in person who have listened to me in my happiest and darkest moments: thank you.

Anne, thank you for the most amazing handmade dolls that meant so much more than handmade dolls.  Andrea and Beth, thank you for praying for me and randomly texting to check in.  Megan, Debra, Rachel, Christine,  thank you for ALWAYS commenting on my adoption posts. Kyle, thank you for letting me confide and thank you for praying. Krisia and Meron, thank you for getting excited with me about hair and clothes and girl stuff. Lisa, thank you for reaching out after a lifetime, it seems. I’m so glad we’re connected again.  Elise and Dena, you’re both awesome. Mama raised you well! 🙂 Stephanie, for your leap of faith and your constant encouragement.  God put you in my life and I am a better person because of it.
All of the friends on facebook that have reached out to me listened to me, cried with me, cheered me on, thank you!

To my new adoption friends, I literally could not have done this without you.  We’ve cheered each other on, rejoicing or crying for each other. I feel your arms around me and I hope you feel mine around you.  Kellie and Amy, for you waiting for 16+ months to get to Seoul, you are my heroes. Nora, I love you, babe. I will not stop cheering you on to your little YH.

And the most important thank you. Jesus, thank you for walking this path with us. Thank you for the gift of my family, soon to be together. Thank you for the knowledge that the four of us are hopping on a plane, secure in the faith of Your presense. Thank you for Seung Joo. Thank you for already working out the details of our life together.

I can not say everyone and I’m sure someone is feeling hurt that I forgot them, but I didn’t forget you, I promise. You have been in intrical part of this path.
For all of the cheers, the “likes”, the emails, the comments, the prayers – most importantly…thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Let the packing begin!

5 Responses to “This one goes out to the one(s) I love”

  1. Nora March 6, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Your are amazing woman! So excited for that travel call to come in and for Cora to be in your arms!

  2. Anne Pirlot March 6, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    🙂

  3. stephanie March 6, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Reading this confirms what I already knew…you and I are a LOT alike!! So happy to read a post that ends with “Let the packing begin!”
    Pack away, girl!!!!!

  4. Christine March 6, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    😀

    I can’t wait to see updates on Facebook from you in a few weeks!! I can’t wait to hear that you are ALL coming HOME!!

  5. amy March 8, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    I love seeing “let the packing begin” 🙂 What a beautiful post!!! I cannot wait to watch your journey unfold to Seoul.

Leave a Reply

