Weekend Recap

13 Feb

Because really, you needed another mommy-blogger to share her weekend, didn’t you? 😉

This is one of those nights where I sit back, put my feet up and think, “That was a GOOD weekend.”  My feet hurt, I feel accomplished and I love that we had a great family filled weekend.

I do not take for granted the days we have until our family dynamics change.  And just like the last week before Miles was born, I wanted to fill every ounce of my time with Logan because I feared life would never be the same.  And, of course, it wasn’t ever the same. But after Miles was born, I didn’t want it to be the same as it was before he was born.  If you have more than one child, you know how that feels.

grainy phone picture
grainy phone picture

So, I’m snuggling longer, skipping out on the chores a little more often to spend extra moments when I can just enjoying my family.
And Alien Dog. 😉

I finished my husband’s office door this weekend and when the sun is up, I’m thrilled.

I tried a few new recipes from Pintrest. I can’t get enough of that website!

I made Sopapillas, which were TO.DIE.FOR.
I made Teryaki Chicken which quickly became my favorite sauce ever.
I made homemade pita bread which was obviously fun to watch “pop” in the oven. They sat for five full minutes waiting for it to happen.
Dave and I were so lucky to have a few hours alone with Logan on Friday night.  That rarely happens because it’s usually Logan going off to his friend’s house leaving Miles with us. Which, of course, is lovely, too, but Logan is 10 now and life isn’t as easy or rosy as it was a couple of years ago.  He’s changing, kids are changing, he’s figuring out who he is and who he’s not and it’s just a tough age.

We went to a Habachi Grill/Japanese restaurant. Logan has never been to one, so it was very fun to watch him watching the chef. We each got a Japanese drink and we had such a hard time figuring out how to open Logan’s Japanese Strawberry Soda.

The boy can rock the chopsticks. I don’t know how he learned, but he ate his whole meal with them.

Another crummy, grainy phone pic.

When I tucked him in that night, he said, “I wish I was still the age of 7.”  I asked him if he thought he was growing up too fast and he said he did.  Tears in his eyes.  This boy I tell you, he is something else.  He is special, special. I told him he didn’t have to grow up in any way that he wasn’t ready to grow up until he was ready to do so. He struggles sometimes finding his place in the sea of faces and this mama worries about him sometimes. I wish I could put a little armor on his heart.

We also made our Valentines! Well, Miles’ Valentines.  Though Logan wishes he was “the age of 7”, he didn’t want the kind of Valentines that a child the age of 7 wanted.  He got plain old “Lik-a-Stick” generic write your name on the label kind.

But MILES got Pintrest Valentine Special.
🙂
Melted Crayons.

But not hearts, ’cause he’s a boy, you know!

I tried SO HARD to do:

U R A
ROCK

like a candy heart, but the writer in me just couldn’t do it. 😉

But apparently, despite the chopping, melting, forcing out of the tray, cutting, printing, gluing and finishing, someone was a little jealous of the Lik-A-Sticks. Good thing I bought 2 boxes.

I taped one to the back of each Valentine.

Just a great, great weekend! I hope yours was, too!

4 Responses to “Weekend Recap”

  1. Grace P. February 13, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    wow! those look great! you are a supermama! cooking, making your own valentines! man, i just barely pulled through with doing the laundry. =) and i agree Logan sounds like such a sweetie! =)

    • Jen February 13, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

      Grace, you have an extra kiddo in the mix. A LITTLE kiddo. They take up far more energy than the big ones do. 😉 You’re pretty super yourself.

  2. grammom February 13, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    I so miss being close enough to participate in their lives. I loved taking one or both of the boys…
    Hope they both have fun at school with their valentines.

    • Jen February 13, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Mom, you’re welcome to come stay with us any time! It would take hardly any work at all to put a temporary bed in Dave’s office. We really do wish you’d consider it! I know the bathroom isn’t ideal, but we could make it work for a few days, right?

Leave a Reply

