Mother Daughter Dolls

16 Jan

I got a message on my facebook wall the other day from a friend.
It was a picture and a note that said, “Their names are Jen and Coralie and they want to see their new room. When can they come over?”

This picture.

Awww! I thought she had been Etsy-window-shopping for me. I do that often.

But nope! She MADE these sweet dolls for me. There really isn’t anything she can’t make, I’ve come to realize. The colors, the fabrics, the hair, they eyes. (Seriously, the Cora doll’s eyes are amazing!) They are perfect!

What I couldn’t convey in words yesterday or over the internet when they first made their debut in my life is that these dolls mean so much more than just dolls! They are hope and future and a visual of where we will be in a couple of months.

It’s a mother-daughter thing. The FIRST mother-daughter thing, to date.

To date, the daughter has been on one side of the world and I on the other, but this is just a little glimpse, something to (literally) hang on to that gives me a visual of togetherness.

I know, they’re dolls, but they are so much more than dolls.

5 Responses to “Mother Daughter Dolls”

  1. grammom January 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    So cute. Wish I could do thinging like that. 🙂

    • Jen January 16, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

      Me too, Mom!

  2. Stephanie January 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    So super cute!!

  3. Anne Pirlot January 17, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I’m so happy you like them. 🙂

  4. Aunt Jesy January 19, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    Those are so cute!!! I

Leave a Reply

