Update – or lack of one, really.

6 Jan

I’m one of those emotional eaters.  It’s a wonder I don’t weigh 600 lbs.  When I get stressed, there are a few things that can make me truly feel better. And they happen to be food. Could be worse, I guess.

I’ll usually start with a simply cup of coffee. But if it’s really bad, it goes up to a special coffee, like a pumpkin latte.

Another thing that works well is a good meal that incorporates cheese and green olives. And by “good meal”, I’m quite sure you understand I mean a good cheesy, green olive pizza.

Sometimes a single Godiva truffle works wonders.

But on those REALLY stressful nights, Dave has been known to but on his superhero cape as soon as the kids are tucked into bed and take care of my chocolate craving with a trip to DQ. My vice: Chocolate extreme with chocolate ice cream instead of vanilla. Extra chocolate chunks on top. He always asks for me. I’m blessed.

Why all this talk about food? It is the night of Friday, January 6th in Seoul right now.  An entire week has gone by in Korea. The first week of 2012. The first week of the month all of us waiting for an EP was waiting for.  Longing for, really. Months went by and we all though, “We just have to make it to Jan 1st, 2012 (well, really Jan 2nd due to the holiday) and we can finally move forward.

There was an email sent out to another agency, not mine, that said that things were going to be moving very slowly with processing EP’s. Someone else told me their friend was told, like us, that she was going to be in the first batch and her agency told her to expect travel in March.

As of 9:00am, Friday morning, there has been not one single person in any of the Korean agencies online (and there is a huge Korean adoption community online) with news that they were submitted to the Korean ministry for EP. Not one.  And now, we all will wait again for 3 more days for it to be Monday again, hoping that they will start allowing submissions next week. What else can we do? There is nothing we can do. We have no say; we simply wait.

This week I’ve crossed truffles and coffee off my list.  I do believe today will also cross off olives and cheese for dinner and our local DQ closes for the winter, so if things get really bad, I may have to go to extreme measures to cure my stress via chocolate. (Driving 7 minutes to the mall.) I’m not there yet. We’ll see how cheese and olives do first.

Pray for all of the waiters and all of the children. I’ve never quite been in this “in-between” stage for so long and it’s tough. It’s “foggy brain” “swollen eyes” “insomnia” tough. Tough as in, forcing myself to get up and shower and move through the day as normal when my bed sounds like such a better place to be.

It kindof sounds like the final weeks of a pregnancy, doesn’t it? Except unlike a pregnancy, every day that it extends, every month we sit and wait, is days and months (and years!) of her life that we miss out on.  We’ve missed her infant, her 1’s, her 2’s, her 3’s and her 4’s are almost over. So much missed.  So many firsts to come, I know.  But today, I’m sad. And I miss her.

4 Responses to “Update – or lack of one, really.”

  1. stephanie January 6, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Oh, stink! How frustrating!!! Oh, how I wish I could meet you for a big, sinful, calorie-laden desert dripping with chocolate over the weekend. Because eating and stress???? Well, I totally get it.
    Hugs and prayers!

    • Jen January 7, 2012 at 1:19 am #

      Thanks, Stephanie. ❤

  2. Wendi January 6, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Ahhhhh…. March… No way!!:(

    Now I am off to DQ…..

    • Jen January 7, 2012 at 1:18 am #

      Try my favorite…it helps. 😉

Leave a Reply

