My Logan

3 Dec

How could I write about my Miles without writing about my Logan?

I was just 24 when Logan was born.  Sadly, there were no digital cameras (that we could afford) at that time, so he doesn’t have the millions of pictures that Miles has.

I didn’t know how to be a mom when Logan entered the world, but he taught me.  He was easy.  Super easy. Ate, slept, rarely cried. BOY did I think I was a good mom. Motherhood was easy, peasy.  Come to find out it wasn’t me, it was just my Logan.

He’s 10 now. *poof* just like that.

I swear he was just 5.

or even 6.

And he’s always been easy.  Yes, of course he’s had his struggles and issues, but being his mom has been a joy every step of the way. He rarely argues with me, always helps when I ask, never argues about doing his homework.  Now, if we could get him to clean his room. 😉

He takes being a big brother as a very important roll. Always encouraging, always putting himself down 3 years to entertain his little bro. He’s done that from the beginning of big-brotherhood.

As I’m writing this, he’s curled up, sleeping on the bottom bunk of his brother’s new bunk bed just so little brother isn’t afraid of sleeping on top for the first time.

Yesterday, we were on our way to school and an old acquaintance that we hadn’t seen in 3 years or more came up.  Logan asked if they would remember us, and I said probably.  He said, “Well, I look completely different but you are just as beautiful today as you were then.

I’m not kidding. I don’t know where the kid gets it. ( It’s not from his daddy!  Ahem.)

He says these things to me all of the time.  I get a new dress, Logan calls it. I get a hair cut, complements from the boy. Paint my nails, get new earrings? He’s on top of it.  Someday, some girl will be very, very lucky.

The boy LOVES.

People, animals, neighbors, people in need, kids who are getting picked on, kids with a million friends. If I were a 10 year old boy, I’d totally want Logan to be my best friend.  (I’m his mom, I can totally say that.)

But I’m lucky enough to be mom. And I’m pretty sure there’s no better role.

2 Responses to “My Logan”

  1. grammom December 3, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Your Logan is for sure the BEST. He has always been there to help me in any way he could and I too have been kind of sad to see him grow up so fast. I believe his whole body and soul over flow with love and we are so blessed he is our grandson. Logan and Miles have brought so much love into our lives so thank you Jennifer and Dave for these awesome boys! 🙂

  2. Jesy December 3, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I love my Loganbologan! You are a great mother don’t ever doubt that.

Leave a Reply

