My Miles

18 Nov

When I took this picture last month, I knew it was one that I was going to love forever.

It’s not clear, it’s a tad bit blurry and it’s not all that complementary to Miles, but it is SOO Miles.  Miles is my goofball.  He’s the one who came into the world with a chip on his shoulder, went through babyhood and toddlerhood demanding time, energy and no sleep.  He’s the one who made me grow to love coffee so much because he woke up 4 times a night for 4 years.  He’s my child with a personality.  A BIIIIIIG personality.  And, I’m happy to say, his chip has all but gone away.  (But when he’s grouchy, that little bottom lip knows how to stretch out far! 🙂 )

99% of the time when he is in a picture, at the very last second he makes a silly face.  He knows how to be goofy, how to laugh so hard tears come out if his eyes yet loves his mommy like no other.  He hugs amazing hugs and kisses so sweetly and I’m afraid that he is going to break some hearts in highschool, unlike my Logan who loves so deeply that I’m afraid HE’S going to be the one with the heart broken.

It’s not easy being the little brother sometimes. Big brother gets to just walk out the door and walk to his friend’s house all.of.the.time.  (Or so it seems to a little brother.)  Big brothers get to do more things than little brothers do, like read in bed later and turn 10 first.  But how I wish Miles understood just how amazing it is to see him at age 6.  I remember when he had his 5th birthday.  I was SO sad.  I love 4 so very much.

Here’s a picture on his 5th birthday. I’m pouting because he is 5 and not 4.  This was almost 2 years ago. See how his little face was once so round and little and smushable and…my goodness…excuse me while I wipe my tears.

You see, it hasn’t always been easy being Miles’ mom. It’s been a whole lotta trial and errors.  I saw a tiny home video of a typical meal time when Miles was 3.  Heartwrenching tears, sobs, deep hiccupy breaths as he told me why he wouldn’t eat his (very kid-friendly) food.  I don’t know why Dave chose to tape that one.  There were many. It was hard to watch.  Miles has had many struggles with give-and-take and finding his place.

He has never had any reason to think he is anything less than what Logan is. Not age, not ability, not talent.  Well, ok, definitely height. But if you asked him, he’d tell you he could jump just as high as Logan. He would have told you that 3 years ago, too!

But let me tell you, ohhh how I love this boy. With every fiber in my body, I LOVE THIS BOY.

ALL of the lessons I’ve learned from being his mom for almost 7 years has made me a better, more patient, more understanding person.  When I was certain I was failing as a mom, he’s grown to this awesome, energetic, fun-loving kid who can’t wait to ask Jesus if he can fly in Heaven some day.  Without wings. Cause wings are for girls.

And I truly believe that all of this practice of being the little is going to help him so much be the big when his sister comes home.  His sister that he wants to share a bed with so he can protect her from bad dreams.  The one who he says he will play Barbies with as long as we don’t tell anyone.  The one who offered up this $20 to buy his “Seung Joo Joo” presents.

Oh, how I love this boy.

3 Responses to “My Miles”

  1. grammom November 18, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Miles is so at home when he comes to visit. Always the first one to help Grandpa Grumps outside with anything and always ready to explain why he can not eat something because that’s not how mommy makes it! 🙂 It was a tough time those first 3 or so years but Jennifer you were and continue to be an example of the BEST mom to both your boys with more than enough love left over for your daughter when she gets here. We love love love those boys too and are so grateful to you and Dave for giving them to us.

    • Jen November 18, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      As if I didn’t already cry enough, mom. 😉 Thank you. For ALWAYS being there for me when I need to gripe and groan and then not rubbing it my face later when I realize that I probably wasn’t being the most gracious of people. Love you, mom. You always say Grandma was the best mom, but I think she’d be pretty impressed with you, too. ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Logan « Cora's Coming Home - December 3, 2011

    […] could I write about my Miles without writing about my […]

Leave a Reply

