That’s the Sound of Sunshine

18 Oct

I took a breath today.

A deep breath.

A breath so deep that I realized just how long it has been since I’ve taken a such a breath.  And it came after a rather big deal that included my family and someone very important to our adoption case.  It was this big misunderstanding of a thing that was way bigger than I ever could have realized, but the reality is that it had me completely unintentionally looking, well, how to say it, “bad”.

And no matter my intentions, there is no way around the general “bad” around my actions, though nothing could have been further from my intent.

Humbling.

When I was on my way to pick up Logan from school, this song came on.

Some days you lose you win and the waters as high as the times your in.
So I jump back into where I learned to swim.
Try to keep my head above it as best I can.
That’s why;

Here I am,
Just waiting on this storm to pass me by.
And that’s the sound of sunshine coming down
And that’s the sound of sunshine coming down…”

The next hour was spent driving one kid to one place, driving back to pick up the other kid from reading group, grocery store and back to pick up the first kid.  I had a minute to check my email from my phone and saw one from my agency come through. My initial reaction: *sigh*

(What’s that you hear? Sunshine?)

“Just letting you know legal documents arrived today via DHL.  We will file your I-600 in the next couple of days.  Please let us know when you receive the visa approval in the mail.”

Did you catch that! “legal documents arrived.”

THE LEGALS CAME!

What does this change? EVERYTHING!  It adds confidence and security to this process where before there was fear, unknown and doubt. The deep breath that released all of the fears that I had that this adoption wasn’t going to actually happen.  And let me tell you, I had very real-to-me fears that that was going to be the case.  But this step has erased all of those fears! I’m changing from fear and letting the sunshine of hope and encouragement come through.  Despite the fact that I had chicken in the crockpot, we packed up and went to celebrate.

And the boys got their cute peace sign pose all ready for their trip to Korea.

And can I just say for the record how amazing these kids are. Logan completely understood what we were celebrating and how big of a deal it was to finally get them.  I feel like a WEIGHT has been lifted off my shoulders.

I can confidently say that we are bring home our daughter now.

What was our final wait for our legals? 15 weeks 5 days.  Or, just for fun, 111 days.

Can I get a collective sigh of relief?

13 Responses to “That’s the Sound of Sunshine”

  1. Yvonne October 18, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    I’ll give you a woohoo! A BIG step forward is always awesome. Here’s to hoping that the next steps occur much quicker.

    • jenadk October 19, 2011 at 1:46 am #

      Thanks Yvonne! Can’t wait to bring Coralie to a FTAK event next year! 🙂

  2. Stephanie October 18, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    WONDERFUL NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh, the relief!!

    • jenadk October 19, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Yes!!! Needing a new update from you soon. It’s the 18th!

  3. Dena October 18, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    Oh, YAY!!!!!! I’m so, so happy to hear this!!! I can’t imagine how relieved you must be. Praise God for answered prayers!

    • jenadk October 19, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Again, thank you for not looking at my like a crazy when you met me with tears. You helped me tremendously and I very much appreciate you!

  4. Grace P. October 18, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    I’m sighing a relief with you! Counting down to TC!!!! (what only hopefully 14 weeks?) =)

    • jenadk October 19, 2011 at 1:48 am #

      14 weeks? We can SO do 14 weeks! I just did almost 16 weeks! 🙂

  5. Jesy October 18, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Yeah, so glad to here they arrived!!!

  6. Jesy October 18, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Hear not Here!!! DUH

  7. grammom October 18, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I was almost afraid to open this so early in the morning but am so glad I did. Of course I cried too. She will be coming home to us. 😉 😉 😉 mom/grandmom

    • jenadk October 19, 2011 at 1:49 am #

      Whew! Right? Thanks for listening to me almost every single day! Love you mom!

Leave a Reply

