Our Chuseok 추석 Celebration

13 Sep

Chuseok, is a major holiday in Korea – in fact, thee biggest according to Korea’s tourism site.  It’s a day to give thanks, eat food and get together with family. Sounds like America’s Thanksgiving, right? I knew it was September 12th this year, but I didn’t think about the 14 hour time difference which had many other people celebrating yesterday.  Oh well! Today I woke up and though, “We should have Korean food today to celebrate.” and moved to “We are going to have a Chuseok CELEBRATION!” in a matter of hours. We had a GREAT day!

We play yut nori.  We made our own kid-friendly board with poster board, stickers and hand painted popsicle sticks. 🙂  (directions here)

Grandma and Grandpa came over for dinner and Grandma helped with our craft…

Which was making hand painted Tshirts with Korea’s flag on them! 🙂

The boys are going to wear them to school tomorrow! 🙂

I was busy in the kitchen!

We had Gimbap (recipe)

Dave fired up the grill for the Bulgogi (with chicken, though the sweet Korean man at the grocery story told me “I would highly suggest NOT doing that. Chicken is for spicy, beef is for sweet.”  This girl doesn’t eat beef, so chicken it was and Oh.MY.Goodness. was this the most amazing chicken EVER. Seriously make it.

My plate looks a little empty doesn’t it? Don’t let it fool you. It just didn’t want to look fat. 😉

That little red side dish is Kimchi and I am trying SO hard to embrace it, but I’m going to be honest – I’m struggling with the Kimchi people. Whew! I said it! I feel like I’m a failure! Kimchi is a Korean staple! Do you know that Korean’s even say “Kimchi” when they are getting their picture taken like many of us say “Cheese”! I read that the average Korean eats 40 lbs of it a year! I can’t be the only one who has yet to embrace it?

And from what I understand, it’s not Chuseok without songpyeon. So songpyeon it was.

The general consensus was the cold ones are better than the hot ones. A bit (lot!) chewy, but everyone but the boys and grandma thought they were good!  I ate a few too many until I realized that 2 of them had 322 calories.  Hm.

The boys got new learning chopsticks and did an amazing job with them!

Those most certainly are NOT buttered noodles! They are Korean noodles.

OK, just pretend they are Korean noodles. He’s using chopsticks people, that’s the point.

Happy Chuseok!!


Can’t wait to celebrate with Coralie next year!

4 Responses to “Our Chuseok 추석 Celebration”

  1. parkfamily5 September 13, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    i LOVE those shirts! What a great Cheosuk day! i can already picture the fun next year when Coralie is in the mix!

  2. Jesy September 13, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    What a fun day you all had wish I could’ve been there, Next year for sure!

  3. grandma sue September 13, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    Looks like a very tasty meal and I’m glad everyone enjoyed it. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Want to See a Video of Cora? « Cora's Coming Home - September 13, 2011

    […] are the boys this morning – both super proud to be wearing their art from last night! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

